Menu

Chilton Primary School

Learn with passion to live with purpose

Summer 2- Once Upon a Time...

Reception Curriculum Newsletter

Term 6 – Once Upon a Time

 

This term we will be exploring traditional and fairy tales in our topic ‘Once Upon a Time’.

 

Please find an overview of our topic and maths learning each week below:

 

Week 1: Three Little Pigs / Doubling, Sharing and Grouping

Week 2: Little Red Riding Hood / Building numbers beyond 10

Week 3: The Gingerbread Man / Counting patterns beyond 10 and Spatial Reasoning 1

Week 4: Cinderella / White Rose – Adding More

Week 5: The Enormous Turnip / Taking Away

Week 6: The Seaside / Spatial Reasoning 2 / Shape

Week 7: The Summer Holidays / Seaside

 

 

Forest School and Outdoor Learning

Forest School and Outdoor Learning will continue this term.

Please see below the dates and groups for each session:

 

Monday 6th June

School Closed

Thursday 9th June

Outdoor Learning - Ants

Monday 13th June

Forest School - Beetles

Thursday 16th June

Outdoor Learning - Crickets

Monday 20th June

Forest School - Ants

Thursday 23rd June

Outdoor Learning - Beetles

Monday 27th June

Forest School - Crickets

Thursday 30th June

No Outdoor Learning

Monday 4th July

Forest School - Ants

Thursday 7th July

Outdoor Learning – Beetles

Monday 11th July

Forest School - Crickets

 

 

PE

PE will continue to be taught by Mr Bedwell on a Tuesday morning. PE will be mostly outside this term so please make sure your child has a full outdoor PE kit including trainers in school that stays in school for the term. This needs to include tracksuit bottoms and a jumper for cooler days.

 

 

Daily Reading

The children will continue to take a reading book home every Tuesday and Friday. Please make sure your child reads daily and that you record their reading in their yellow reading record.

 

 

Key dates

  • Friday 10th June – Mental Health and Wellbeing Day
  • Friday 17th June – Non-Uniform Day
  • Saturday 25th June – PTA Summer Fair
  • Monday 4th July – Class Swap Day
  • Wednesday 13th July – Trip to the Seaside
  • Tuesday 19th July – End of Term, finish 1.15pm

 

 

 

If at any time you need to contact us, please feel free to email the class address below or telephone the office.

 

Oak– oak@chilton.oxon.sch.uk

Maple – maple@chilton.oxon.sch.uk

 

Best Wishes,

 

The Reception Team.

Top